Finest Handcrafted Designer Jewelry

Diamond Education

For most people, buying a diamond is a new experience, but that doesn't mean it should be overwhelming. Understanding a diamond's quality characteristics is straightforward and simple.

Ronaldo Designer Jewelry, Inc. Diamond Education is designed to answer all your questions and help you make the most informed decision. It explains a diamond's characteristics, how those characteristics influence appearance, and which features are more important than others. In just a few minutes you'll know everything you need to know to find your perfect diamond.


Diamon Color, Cut, Clarity, Carat


Ronaldo Designer Jewelry, Inc. wants you to understand exactly what you’re buying when shopping for your diamond. With the creation of the 4Cs and the International Diamond Grading System, The GIA, Gemological Institute of America, sets the standards for diamond grading and has been helping consumers make educated diamond-buying decisions for over 50 years.

GIA’s D-to-Z Color grading scale, Flawless-to-I3 Clarity grading scale, and Excellent-to-Poor cut-grading scale are all recognized by gem and jewelry professionals everywhere.



How did the 4Cs of Diamond Quality Come to Be?


Because diamonds are so valuable, it is essential for industry professionals to have a universal grading system when comparing diamond qualities. In the mid-twentieth century, GIA developed the International Diamond Grading System and the 4Cs as a way to compare and evaluate diamonds objectively.

The Four Cs of diamond quality will give you a collection of information about a diamond’s characteristics and value, but they can’t begin to describe one elusive quality – beauty. To do that, you need to experience a diamond with your own eyes.

Diamon Carats


Carat weight is the most intuitive of the 4Cs – you expect a larger Diamond to be worth more when assigning Diamond values.

Diamonds and other gemstones are weighed using metric carats with one carat weighing about the same as a small paper clip, or 0.2 grams. Just as a dollar is divided into 100 pennies, a carat is divided into 100 points, which means that a diamond of 50 points weighs 0.50 carats. But two diamonds of equal weight can have very different values depending on the other three characteristics of a diamond’s 4Cs:  Color, Clarity, and Cut.  The majority of diamonds used in fine jewelry weigh one carat or less.

 Diamond Carat Weight

Because even a fraction of a carat can represent a considerable difference in cost when purchasing diamonds, precision is crucial. In the diamond industry, weight is measured to a thousandth of a carat and rounded to the nearest hundredth. Each hundredth is called a point (a 0.25 ct. Diamond would be called a “twenty-five pointer”). Diamond weights greater than one carat are expressed in carats and decimals. (For instance, a 1.08 ct. stone would be described as “one point oh eight carats,” or “one oh eight.”)


The Color of the diamond is all about what you can't see.

Diamonds are valued by how closely they approach colorlessness – the less color, the higher the value. Most diamonds found in jewelry stores run from colorless to near-colorless with slight hints of yellow or brown.

Diamond Colors

The GIAs the industry’s most widely accepted grading system. The scale begins with the letter D, representing colorless, and continues, with increasing presence of color, to the letter Z. Diamonds are color-graded by comparing them to stones of known color under controlled lighting and precise viewing conditions.

Many of these color distinctions are so subtle that they are invisible to the untrained eye, but these slight color differences make a very big difference in diamond quality and price.


Diamond Clarity refers to the absence of internal inclusions or external blemishes.

Because they are created deep within the earth, most diamonds contain unique birthmarks called “Inclusions” (Internal) and “Blemishes” (External).

Diamond Clarity & Blemishes

Diamonds with very few birthmarks are rare and, of course, rarity affects a diamond’s value. Using the International Diamond Grading System, created by GIA, diamonds are given a clarity grade that ranges from flawless (FL) to Diamonds with more prominent inclusions (I3).

Every diamond is unique, but almost none is absolutely perfect. On very infrequent occasions, a flawless diamond may be created, but they are so exceptionally rare, that most jewelers have never even seen one.

Diamond Flaws

  • Flawless (FL)
    No inclusions or blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10* magnification

  • Internally Flawless (IF)
    No inclusions and only minor blemishes are visible to a skilled grader using 10* magnification

  • Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2)
    Inclusions are difficult for a skilled grader to see under 10* magnification

  • Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2)
    Inclusions are clearly visible under 10* magnification but can be characterized as minor

  • Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2)
    Inclusions are noticeable to a skilled grader using 10* magnification

  • Imperfect (I1, I2, and I3)
    Inclusions are obvious under 10* magnification and may affect transparency and brilliance


Cut fuels the Diamond’s fire, sparkle, and brilliance.

It seems miraculous that the traditional 58 tiny facets in a diamond, each precisely cut and sharply defined, may be only two millimeters in diameter. But without this precision, a diamond wouldn’t be nearly as beautiful as it is. Without a doubt, the allure of a particular diamond depends more on cut than anything else.

Though extremely difficult to analyze, the cut of a diamond has three attributes:  brightness (the total light reflected from a diamond), fire (the dispersion of light into the colors of the spectrum), and scintillation (the light flashes – or sparkle – when a diamond moves).

An understanding of diamond cut begins with the shape of a diamond, with the standard round brilliant dominating the majority of diamond jewelry. All other diamond shapes are known as fancy shapes or fancy cuts and include the marquise, pear, oval, and emerald cuts. Hearts, cushions, triangles, and a variety of other new shapes are also gaining popularity.

Diamond Cuts

As a value factor, though, cut refers to a diamond’s proportions, symmetry, and polish. For example, look at a side view of the standard round brilliant. The major components, from top to bottom, are the crown, the girdle, and the pavilion. A round brilliant cut diamond can have 57 or 58 facets, the 58th being a tiny flat facet at the bottom of the pavilion, known as the culet. The large, flat facet on the top is the table. The proportions of a diamond refer to the relationships between table size, crown angle, and pavilion depth. A wide range of proportion combinations are possible, and these ultimately affect the stone’s synchronicity with light.

Diamond Proportions